SJE Background & History

St. John the Evangelist School is a parochial elementary and middle school under the jurisdiction of the Catholic Diocese of Gary, Indiana. Founded in 1846 by the Brothers and Sisters of the Holy Cross, St. John the Evangelist was the first school established in the town of St. John.

Although the school was temporarily closed during the Civil War, it later re-opened as a public school and returned to its Catholic origins in 1903 under the guidance of the Franciscan Sisters. Continued growth in the area and a corresponding increase in enrollment eventually necessitated the construction of a new school building. The current school site was dedicated on April 27, 1969; a second floor addition was completed in 1988.

Today St. John the Evangelist is a dynamic learning center offering opportunities for educational excellence for students in preschool through eighth grade. A comprehensive curriculum, including Spanish, art, music, and physical education serves to educate the whole child physically, intellectually, emotionally, spiritually, and socially. State of the art technology such as wireless laptop computers, interactive white boards, and ceiling mounted projectors are integrated throughout the classrooms.

Most importantly, however, St. John the Evangelist is a faith filled community with Christ at the center of all of its activities. With over 150 years of experience to draw on, St. John the Evangelist is well equipped to nurture the character, compassion and values of its students the hallmarks of Catholic education.





9400 Wicker Ave
St. John, IN 46373
(219) 365-5451